Executive Board

    Home / Executive Board


exec directorThe Aiken/Barnwell Counties Community Action Agency, Inc. (ABCCAA) is a people-oriented, non-profit, community-based organization that has served the people of this area since 1966. Programmatic services are provided by a dedicated staff in Aiken, Barnwell, Edgefield, Lexington, Richland, Greenville, Orangeburg, Bamberg, Allendale and Calhoun counties. We are about to enter into operations in Laurens County regarding our very popular Foster Grandparents Program. The major purpose of our Agency is to help improve the lives of people in need as well as address a variety of community concerns. Our staff, though having to deal with a shortage of funds, maintains a professional and positive demeanor at all times for and toward the many families we serve.

As Chairman of the Board of Directors, it is my pleasure to work with a dedicated group of citizens from the area we serve. Each Board member commits to assisting the whole family in fulfilling our fiduciary responsibilities with dignity, diligence, and grace. All members of this Board do an outstanding job in serving those who need our service the most, regardless of sex, age, race, color, nationality, religion, physical or mental handicap or marital status. The Board endeavors to serve all in a non-threatening, compassionate, and efficient manner.

ABCCAA is fortunate to have a dedicated leader for its Executive Director, Mr. George A. Anderson. His leadership of a determined staff allows us to continuously expand the services we provide. Mr. Anderson and the staff receive high accolades from around the State of South Carolina on a regular basis. When called upon to assist other counties, our highly efficient staff readily accepts the challenges.

Finally, thanks to all community leaders, volunteers, partners, State and Federal officials, and friends who daily give their support to our Agency. The ABCCAA does what we do because we have a strong desire to fight to eliminate poverty when and wherever it raises its ugly head.

James Gallman, Sr.

Board of Directors

James Gallman, Sr., Chairman
Sue Ellis, Vice-Chairman
Janette Cain, Secretary
William C. Price, Treasurer
Sister Catherine Marie Lowe
Reverend Marlon Hudson

Peggy Kirkland
Ann S. McMillian
Marie Rankin
Doris Jamison
Maleah D. Busbee
Sandra Smith